SBN Sports

Afghanistan v Pakistan (in UAE) 2023

All matches played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

24 1st Twenty20 (d/n) (14:00 GMT)

26 2nd International Twenty20 (d/n) (15:00 BST)

27 3 International Twenty20 (d/n) (15:00 BST)

Pakistan have announced changes for the Twenty20 international series against Afghanistan later this month, resting skipper Babar Azam and handing over skipper Shadab Khan, the coaches announced on Monday. The three matches are scheduled on March 24, 26 and 27 in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates.

There have been nine changes to the squad since the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia in November last year, with Fakhar Zaman, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf also rested. Shadab, 24, had led Pakistan in the Tri-Nation Twenty20 in New Zealand in December 2020, when Azam missed out with an injury, losing the series 2-1.

A three-member selection committee has named several new players who have performed well in the ongoing Pakistan Super League. “I have told all the senior players to give them rest for the Afghanistan series,” Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi told reporters.

“Azam is our leader and a valuable asset. . . You’ll see it come back in the next series.”

There are memorials for Imad Wasim, Azam Khan, Abdullah Shafique and Faheem Ashraf.

pakistan vs afghanistan 2023 pakistan squad

Imad played the last of his 58 Twenty20 internationals in November 2021, while Azam Khan and Shafique played three internationals each. Newcomers include batsmen Saim Ayub, 20, and Tayyab Tahir, 29. Ihsanullah, 20, and Zaman Khan, 21, are fast bowlers. This will be the first series between Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Former captain Mohammad Yousuf will be the head coach and batting coach for this series. SQUAD: Shadab Khan (onyeisi), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *