SBN Sports

All you need to know about the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Everything you need to know about Men’s World Cup T20 2022
Group 1; along with Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and South Africa in Group 2. The Super 12 match will begin on the 22nd of October, where last year’s runners-up Australia and New Zealand will meet in Sydney. That’s eight of the Super 12s in question, what about the other four? Before the start of the Super 12, there is a first round that will start on October 16 and end on October 21. Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates and Namibia make up Group A of the first round, while Ireland, West Indies. , Scotland and Zimbabwe are group B. The top two teams in each division advance to the Super 12 stage.



Both teams appeared for the ICC national anthem via Getty
Was there a year ago? Is the World Cup not played in a few years? Good question. The T20 World Cup has been held every two years since 2010, but there was a gap of five years after the 2016 tournament…

Why? ! The ICC missed it in 2018 because the schedule was full of second-rate cricket. There were plans to bring it to South Africa that year, but the government banned Cricket South Africa from hosting major events for failing to meet reform targets.


Ok, moving on… There is an ODI World Cup in 2019, so the plan is to hold the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia and the 2021 Champions League in India. But then the Champions Trophy was scrapped and replaced with another T20 World Cup – so there were back-to-back T20 World Cups scheduled for 2020 and 2021. But the pandemic made it clear that the 2020 edition would not take place. , and because India wanted to retain the 2021 T20 World Cup (which was later held in the United Arab Emirates), the Australian tournament was moved to 2022. So is Australia’s reign as T20 champions likely to be the shortest? Hmm, it happened before. Pakistan won the 2009 T20 World Cup in England and England won the 2010 T20 World Cup in the Caribbean. So, Pakistan’s joy was short-lived. Again, it has been in successive years due to some issues surrounding the Champions Trophy… but are we going back now? General view of the MCG Darrian Traynor / © Cricket Australia/Getty Images


Well, regale us with some stories about the previous World Cup… Let’s start with Chris Gayle in the first match of the first T20 World Cup. He gave the tournament a perfect start by smashing the top hundreds in T20 Internationals. And then, Yuvraj Singh went 6,6,6,6,6,6 in one over Stuart Broad in Durban 2007. Nine years later Carlos Brathwaite went 6, 6, 6, 6 in the World Cup final T20 2016 last, leaving Ben. Stokes and England are rocking. There are many others… but shall we talk about the biggest one?

You mean India……against Pakistan, yes. They face off on October 23 for what is expected to be a packed house – more than 90,000 fans – at the MCG. It will be a show. It is the beginning of their campaign, just like last year. At that time, it was Pakistan who ended decades of pain by beating India for the first time in the World Cup, and knocking them out of the tournament. So, what’s new in this World Cup? There are rules. This is the first competition that will fill the new playing field that started on the first night of October this year. Chief among them is that the team will be penalized if they are slowly exceeding their rate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *